every journey has a beginning

Though I’m not certain I can pinpoint when this one began. There have been hints of it for years, decades even. A little girl deciding less is more as she organizes her toys, again as a teenager, and then a college student. The desire has only intensified and here my soul craves simplicity – a home that is easily managed, a schedule that isn’t overwhelming. It cries for a life where relationships take centre stage.

Although some of the hardest work, the actual shedding of stuff + restructuring my career plans, is mostly behind me, the journey is still in its first miles. I have years ahead of me to reap the harvest of friendships, to prioritize my family, and to consider how our lives impact our neighbours around the world. And this is where my journal begins.

